Wednesday’s walk: I am blessed

We found out what R is allergic to yesterday.  I am not going to put it all on here.  It is private.   A friend left me this message on fb tonight.  If you ever feel the need to rant just call me thanks.  I can deal with this, we can.  She honestly avoids foods that make her ill, wonder why.  That has been a blessing.  So she has  had maybe 3 bad reactions in 2 years.  She is starting to eat more fruit like she ate grapes yesterday.  She wanted the whole bowl.  Then today, she ate pineapple and melon. 

My closest friends have kids with food allergies.  Like God, gave them to me as a friend to help me cope.  R in the last so many months has changed so much in good ways.  She has bad days-I won’t lie.  We do see less of them though.  I believe she has been having night terrors.  When I go in there to calm her down, I talk to her and reassure her.  She says ok, hugs me grabs her blanket and goes back to sleep.  She understands things. 

At the end of the day, I have no clue why my kid has food allergies.  The other allergies aren’t too hard to figure out.  We don’t have food allergies in our family.  That we know of.  My kid is whole and healthy though.  I can hug and kiss her daily, I do.  WE DO.  God doesn’t give us more than we can handle.  This I can handle. 

I hope some Parents, someday can learn from our struggles.  If someone wants to know more, they can leave me a comment with an email addy attached.  I will reply. 

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.”  Eph 3:20

5 responses to this post.

  1. sorry to hear about the allergies. I know what a struggle that it and have watched many families go through that. hoping things get better for you all!

  2. I am sorry to hear that. It would not be easy to have a child with allergies. My Princess had a rash for weeks. We thought it was going to be food allergies. Luckily after testing we learned it was not. I am praying for you as you make changes to her diet. I am glad that moms like us can rely on God!

    Oh, and I didn’t realize you moved until you gave me the head’s up in the comment today. Thanks for letting me know. I added this site to my google reader.

    Blessings!

  3. Oh I really feel for you. I have many food allergies…and I have trouble eating at restaurants and in people’s homes…but it is totally managable at home…and I just take my food when we go places if possible.
    I carry an epi-pen in case I get a hidden alergy trigger somewhere…and I also carry liquid Benydryl just in case.

    It is not fun…but workable. The worst part is that people don’t understand the seriousness and they will tell you that the food is ok…when indeed it is not. So be very careful. Read everything before eating anything.

  4. Wow, so sorry to hear of her allergies! We have various allergy problems in our afmily here and there, so know they are hard to handle sometimes. Prayers that the good Lord will see R through these tough times and help her live in comfort with her limitations. Thank you for sharing with us so we can support you! {hugz} 🙂

  5. Sorry you have to deal with allergies. My hubby and I don’t have allergies so I’m hoping that our daughter won’t either, but you just never know.

Comments are closed.

