Ovarian Cancer Awareness

September is Ovarian Cancer Awareness month!  Which means please paint your toenails teal for a great cause!  They also have teal bracelets, but they are made for big wrists.  I don’t have one.  ( a big wrist)  It would be nice, if I could find someone to make me a much smaller one. 

Why raise awareness?

* Too many women with ovarian cancer do not get diagnosed until their cancer has spread. Their survival rate is 45%.
* The survival rate improves greatly – to 93 percent – if the cancer is diagnosed at an early stage before it has spread. Only 19 percent of ovarian cancer cases are diagnosed at this local stage.
* Approximately 75 percent of ovarian cancer cases are diagnosed at an advanced stage after the cancer has spread beyond the ovary.

You can find more info at Ovarian Cancer National Alliance.  Please help support a great cause!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Teal toes, huh? I’ll THINK about it! But thanks for blogging for such a great cause!

  2. Great cause! And I’m glad my toenails are already teal 🙂

  3. Beth, my mom had cancer. So the truth is I know way too much about cancer. She didn’t have ovarian though. Nothing is every said about ovarian and it NEEDS to be said!
    Rachel, I am glad your toenails are teal!

  4. Here’s something else we can do in addition to nail polish. In observance of Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month, for every person that visits http://www.letstalkperiod.com and registers their email address, Seventh Generation will donate $1 on their behalf to the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund, up to $10,000, to help support women suffering from ovarian cancer.

Comments are closed.

