Mother’s Day

Foursons

I am going to be honest here.  Don’t like it, don’t agree then don’t read.  I know I am blessed, ok.  I honestly do know that.  Mother’s Day is not easy on me.  At all.  My Mom has been gone for almost 5 years, and I miss her so much.  I wish we could spend Mother’s Day with my mother-in-law, but she is 12 hours away.  My grandmother hasn’t been in the best health this year, and I have to admit they are getting older.  All of that combined is making me sad. 

Every year is different, and this one just seems to be harder.  I am not a person that likes a big fanfare anyway. 

This isn’t a letter this is just how I feel.

2 responses to this post.

  1. You have every right to feel that way. I know exactly where you are coming from. My mother has been gone for 34 years, and my mother in law passed away last December. I was never priveledged to really spend a lot of Mother’s Days with either one of them. I was only 28 when my own mother passed, and forgive me —but my mother-in-law was something else. Yes, I miss her too, but nothing like I miss my own mother.
    Since i do have a daughter and granddaughter I am going to go to the mother/daughter banquet this evening at our church. I also invited a neice and great neice and my daughter’s mother-in-law to join us. Hopefully we will be able to have a bit of fun together and make memories for all of us. (Since I am hoping to retire–I don’t know, but this may be the last banquet for me since I won’t know where we will be next year) So guess I’d best make the best of this evening and enjoy it as much as possible.
    Hopefully your grandmother will feel better soon. And may we both remember our Special memories of our mothers.
    So yes, my dear, you have every right to feel this way. But, do me a favor and try to make Your day with R a special one so she too will have memories.

    If you lived close to us I would say come join us for the evening meal and fun.

  2. I feel the same way when Father’s Day rolls around. The 3 year anniversary of his death was in April. Hang in there, I can totally relate to how you’re feeling.

Comments are closed.

