28 weeks

By this week, your baby weighs two and a quarter pounds (like a Chinese cabbage) and measures 14.8 inches from the top of her head to her heels. She can blink her eyes, which now sport lashes. With her eyesight developing, she may be able to see the light that filters in through your womb. She’s also developing billions of neurons in her brain and adding more body fat in preparation for life in the outside world.

You’re in the home stretch! The third and final trimester starts this week. If you’re like most women, you’ll gain about 11 pounds this trimester.

At this point, you’ll likely visit your doctor or midwife every two weeks. Then, at 36 weeks, you’ll switch to weekly visits.

Around this time, some women feel an unpleasant “creepy-crawly” sensation in their lower legs and an irresistible urge to move them while trying to relax or sleep. If this sensation is at least temporarily relieved when you move, you may have what’s known as restless legs syndrome (RLS). No one knows for sure what causes RLS, but it’s relatively common among expectant mothers. Try stretching or massaging your legs, and cut down on caffeine, which can make the symptoms worse. Ask your caregiver if you should try iron supplements, which can sometimes relieve RLS.

Other than allergies, and acid reflux I really do feel ok.  I had a bad leg cramp the other day but it turns out I just needed more magnesium and calcium.  Haven’t had one since.  Emily likes the banana, I eat with breakfast as well.  I am so not a banana person, but as long as likes them! I do get pretty tired at the end of the day though.  Emily’s kicks have gotten stronger and she is as feisty as ever.  I still do not want red meat.  Any other meat, I love!  Have eaten more fruit this week.

This pregnancy aside from the allergies which I knew would be the same, has been way different. Morning sickness, different cravings.  Then again, with this kid we eat way healthier and I rarely do caffeine.  No sodas, at all well I did do the occasional ginger ale with morning sickness.

One response to this post.

  1. So happy to hear the update. I am at 16 weeks and finally getting out of the morning sickness. Just saw my midwife yesterday and everything is on track. Just need more iron since I am slightly anemic.

    I hope you guys all have a wonderful Christmas!

    Blessings 🙂

Comments are closed.

